satire, Song parodies, Trump, YouTube

“Donald from New York City”

I don’t know quite what got into me this morning, when I decided to make a song about Trump set to “The Boy From New York City” by Manhattan Transfer. That’s not the easiest song to do, since it has a ton of harmonies and the lead singer belts in a really high voice. I’m actually a soprano, but for classical music. For pop songs, I do better lower. Maybe I should have tried this in a lower key… And I would also change the song from “Donald From New York City” to “Trump From New York City”. I may redo this at some point and change it… But I’ve already spent a couple of hours on this, and it’s time to move on to something else… like walking Noyzi and playing guitar.

I expect this particular song is going to get creamed with dislikes, anyway… But I’m sure I’ll get some comments that inspire me to write blog posts, too. I’ll probably hear from plenty of MAGA morons, as well as a few people who liked what I did with this classic– and obnoxious– 80s pop song. I guess I’m showing my age. This song was a hit when I was 5th or 6th grade, I think.

I ended up doing the base harmonies on the chorus on one GarageBand project, turning that into a single track, then starting a new project to add the lead vocal and some more harmonies. It was a complicated undertaking that was a bit frustrating, because the finished project doesn’t sound– to me– as good as the raw version does.

The news out of Manhattan does sound somewhat encouraging that Trump MIGHT be held accountable for something, for once in his life. But I can’t hold my breath, because he is “Teflon Don”, after all. A lot of people love him, even though he’s a scourge on humanity and makes us a laughing stock. If he gets convicted, I’m sure the unhinged whackaloons will come out with their guns and shit.

I did hear that Trump and his goons are doing their best to screw over Fani Willis in Georgia. Isn’t it amazing that a person who does this kind of stuff, just to win an election, is allowed to run? Why do so many people want an obvious criminal in the White House? It’s mostly about money and abortion– and the abortion thing is just to keep women down and under control… Oh, I guess I can add keeping anyone who isn’t a straight, white, Christian male disenfranchised and in check. It really is disgusting and depressing.

Thanks for your patience with me and these parody songs. I find writing funny lyrics to be more uplifting than writing sad blog posts. I don’t really enjoy making the actual videos, but I have to have a proper vehicle, right. At least today, I didn’t have to put on any makeup. 😉

Well… I think the creative well is officially dry now. I’m going to get on with the day. Hope some of you enjoy today’s musical message.

(Sung to “The Boy From New York City” by Manhattan Transfer)

Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, cool-cool kitty
Tell us about Donald from New York City
Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, come on kitty (oh, yeah)
Tell us about Donald from New York City

Still kinda rich
Still really mean (yeah, yeah)
Some things that Donald’s done are downright obscene!
Yeah, yeah
When he grifts
Workers get stiffed…
And Donald wants to send the country far adrift!
Yeah, yeah

Ooh-wee
I wish we’d never seen
How he walks yeah yeah
And how he talks
Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, cool-cool kitty (oh, yeah)
Tell us about Donald from New York City

He needs to nap
And take a crap (yeah, yeah)
He has the dumbest lawyers
On any map (yeah, yeah)
And he’s not cute when he has to poot
And he keeps his pockets full of other people’s loot yeah, yeah

Ooh-wee
I sure don’t want to see
His yellow skin (yeah, yeah)
And triple chin (yeah, yeah)
Every time he’s on the TV
Chills run down my spine
Every time he screams “Elect me!”
Ooh, I wish he was confined… yeah

Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, come on kitty (oh yeah)
Tell us about Donald from New York City

He can cheat
And show conceit (yeah, yeah)
And he’s shown us he will never accept defeat (yeah, yeah)
He denies
And always lies
And now I know he’ll never stop until he dies (yeah, yeah)

Ooh-wee
I never want to see
Trump’s the worst (yeah, yeah)
He should disperse! (yeah, yeah)

Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, cool-cool kitty (oh, yeah)
Tell us about Donald from New York City (oh, yeah)
Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, come on kitty (aha)
Tell us about Donald from New York City (a-aha)

Ooh-wah, ooh-wah, cool-cool kitty (oh, yeah)
Tell us about Donald from New York City (oh, yeah)

Ad lib out…

This was quite a project. I could probably do it better, if I took more time with it… But I don’t think Trump deserves my best effort.

Standard

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.